Jackdaws Courses 2019-20

Jackdaws Courses 2019-20

Jackdaws Courses 2019-20

All 2019-20 Courses are Live on our website! With a wealth of wonderful courses, and our new studio now completed, we have an exciting year of music making ahead.

General booking opens on Wednesday 10 July. A full list of courses can be found below with links to course blurbs and tutor biographies.

If we have your address, your hard copy brochure should be with you shortly (they are being printed as we type!) If we don’t have your address and you would like a printed copy, let us know.

We look forward to welcoming you to Jackdaws soon!

Voice

Interpreting Song
with Amanda Roocroft
Fri 20 – Sun 22 September 2019
NEW TUTOR

Singing in Russian
with Alexandre Naoumenko
Fri 4 – Sun 6 October 2018

Songs of Mozart and Schumann
with Joan Rodgers
Fri 25 – Sun 27 October 2019
NEW COURSE

Audition Preparation Weekend
with Audrey Hyland and Saffron van Zwanenberg
Fri 8 – Sun 10 November 2019

Art Songs by African-American
and Black British Composers

with Michael Harper
Fri 24 – Sun 26 January 2020

Sing, Sing, Sing
with Evelyn Tubb and Michael Fields
Fri 7 – Sun 9 February 2020

What’s the Score!
with Phillip Thomas
Fri 21 – Sun 23 February 2020
NEW COURSE

English Song Weekend
with Sarah Leonard and Stephen Varcoe
Fri 13 – Sun 15 March 2020

Singing in English
with Adrian Thompson
Fri 20 – Sun 22 March 2020

A Song by Any Other Name
with Richard Jackson
Fri 27 – Fri 29 March 2020

The Golden Age of Broadway
with Paul Knight
Fri 24 – Sun 26 April 2020

Singing Handel
with Rosa Mannion
Fri 8 – Sun 10 May 2020

Schubert & Gurney: A Poet’s Dream
with Ian Partridge
Fri 5 – Sun 7 June 2020
NEW COURSE

Discover Your Voice
with Penny Jenkins
Fri 19 – Sun 21 June 2020

Stagecraft for Singers
with Rosa Mannion and Saffron van Zwanenberg
Thurs 2 – Sun 5 July 2020
Three Day Course
NEW COURSE

Singer as Artist
with Alison Wells
Fri 10 – Sun 12 July 2020

A Celebration of Lieder and Art Song
with Simon Wallfisch
Fri 7 – Sun 9 August 2020
NEW TUTOR

Opera Workshop
with Mary Plazas and Robert Chevara
Fri 21 – Sun 23 August 2020

Singing in French
with Robin Bowman
Fri 18 – Sun 20 September 2020

Piano

Jackdaws Studio in Great ElmFinding Your Voice at the Piano
with Stephen Savage
Fri 27 – Sun 29 September 2019

Playing by Ear for Pleasure and Technique
with Stephen Marquiss
Fri 18 – Sun 20 October 2019
NEW COURSE

Learning from Chopin
with James Lisney
Fri 1 – Sun 3 September 2019
NEW COURSE

Practising the Piano
with Graham Fitch
Fri 15 – Sun 17 November 2018

Polishing Your Piano Technique
with Melanie Spanswick
Fri 17 – Sun 19 January 2020

Piano Music from the First Viennese School
with Graeme Humphrey
Fri 31 January – Sun 2 February 2020
NEW TUTOR

Becoming a Confident Pianist
with Timothy Barratt
Fri 28 February – Sun 1 March 2020

The Pianist’s Technical Toolbox
with Alisdair Hogarth
Fri 3 – Sun 5 April 2020

Knowing the Score
with Karl Lutchmayer
Fri 17 – Sun 19 April 2020

From Panic to Poise Weekend
with Wendy Skeen
Fri 1 – Sun 3 May 2020

Beethoven in Context
with Julian Jacobson
Fri 15 – Sun 17 May 2020
NEW COURSE

The Complete Pianist
with Margaret Fingerhut
Fri 26 – Sun 28 June 2020

Intermediate Piano Summer School
with Mark Tanner
Mon 20 – Thurs 23 July 2020
Three Day Course

Advanced Piano Summer School
with Mark Tanner
Thurs 23 – Sun 26 July 2020
Three Day Course

Piano Workshop: A New Departure
with Philip Fowke
Fri 11 – Sun 13 September 2020

One Day Courses

Family Singing Afternoon
with Caroline Radcliffe
Sunday 13 October 2019

Singing for the Over 50s
with Penny Jenkins
Saturday 30 November 2019

Healing with the Voice
with Anne Bourne
Sunday 1 December 2019

Understanding Your Voice
with Jessica Walker
Saturday 7 December 2019

From Panic to Poise One Day Course
with Wendy Skeen
Sunday 8 December 2019

Strings

Winter Guitar Ensemble
with Eden Stell Guitar Duo
Thurs 12 – Sun 15 December 2019
Three Day Course

Summer Guitar Ensemble
with Eden Stell Guitar Duo
Thurs 21 – Sun 24 May 2020
Three Day Course

Strings & Things: Intermediate – Advanced
with Nic Fallowfield
Thurs 13 – Sun 16 August 2020
Three Day Course
NEW TUTOR

Violin and Viola Workshop
with Madeleine Mitchell
Fri 28 – Sun 30 August 2020

Stylish Baroque
with Theresa Caudle and Alastair Ross
Fri 4 – Sun 6 September 2019

Wind

Recorder Weekend
with Anna Stegmann
Fri 22 – Sun 24 November 2019

The City Musick – Renaissance Wind Band Music for Court & City
with William Lyons and Richard Thomas
Fri 14 – Sun 16 February 2020

Clarinets
with David Campbell
Fri 6 – Sun 8 March 2020

Oboe Weekend
with Sarah Francis and Ruth Watson
Fri 29 May – Sun 31 May 2020
NEW TUTOR

Bassoon Workshop – From Reed to Recital
with Robert Codd
Fri 12 – Sun 14 June 2020

Chamber Music Weekend
with Sarah Francis, Robert Codd, Ian Mitchell and Stephen Gutman
Fri 17 – Sun 19 July 2020

Search for a Course

Archives