Tempest Flute Trio

Tempest is an award winning, London based flute trio founded at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester in 2010.

Determined to stand out from the crowd and to showcase the flute trio as a credible and versatile ensemble, Tempest aimed to expand the repertoire for 3 flutes and to deliver innovative performances. The trio has now performed all over the world, covering a wide spectrum of music including 20 new works and their own arrangements.

Tempest Flute Trio; Holly Melia, Hannah Grayson, Helen Wilson

Tempest’s award successes include winning Royal Overseas League Chamber Music Competition 2013 and Second Prize in the 14th International Kuhlau Flute Competition 2013. They also won the RNCM Contemporary Music Award, the RNCM Ensemble of the Year Competition, the RNCM Woodwind Chamber Music Competition, Trevor Wye Prize and were semi-finalists for YCAT (Young Classical Artists Trust). After auditions, they were selected to be artists for the Park Lane Group Concert Series and the Manchester Midday Concert Society. In 2011 Tempest won the Nonclassical “Battle of the Bands” competition for contemporary classical music.

Tempest performed as featured artists in the National Flute Association Annual Convention in Las Vegas and the British Flute Society Convention in Manchester. Other highlights include recitals at the Wigmore Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall and tours in Italy, Germany and Switzerland where they opened the Lucerne Chamber Music Series. The trio also deliver workshops and are members of the “Live Music Now!” scheme, a charity, which for over thirty years, has been putting into practice the visionary ideals of its founders, Yehudi Menuhin and Ian Stoutzker; bringing the joy and inspiration of live music to those who have limited access to conventional music-making.

Much of Tempest’s success as a trio is fuelled by each member’s determination, originality and accomplishments as individuals. All three lead busy orchestral freelance careers as well as working as soloists, chamber musicians, teachers and workshop leaders.